Dragonmark by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Centuries ago, Illarion was betrayed– a dragon made human against his will, then forced to serve humanity as a dragonmount in their army, and to fight for them in barbaric wars, even while he hated everything about them. Enslaved and separated from everyone he knew and from his own dragon brothers, he was forced into exile in a fey realm where he lost the only thing he ever really loved.

Now he has a chance to regain what’s been lost— to have the one thing he covets most. But only if he gives up his brothers and forsakes the oaths he holds most dear. Yet what terrifies him most isn’t the cost his happiness might incur, it’s the fact that there is just enough human in his dragon’s heart that he might actually be willing to pay it and betray everything and everyone– to see the entire world burn…

Rating: ⋆ ⋆ ⋆ ⋆ 

I do not think I have ever come across a book that Sherrilyn Kenyon wrote that I didn’t absolutely and positively love. However, while I adored Dragonmark, I didn’t love it enough to give it the usual five stars that a Kenyon book would normally get out of me. That really surprises me and I sincerely hope that the next book will prove that this one is just  a mere fluke. But it goes to show you that even the best of the best don’t always put out pure perfection every time.

In any case, Dragonmark was a very highly anticipated story for me, just because of how the last book Dragonbane left off with such a major cliffhanger. Most of the book was amazing, even the parts where we’re going over history that was covered in the previous two books from Illarion’s point of view. Seeing things from his eyes make the lines no less funny. However, the scene with the Omegrion when after they learned of how the Dragonbane came to be is confusing. At least it was confusing because one character seemed to refer to himself as Arcadian one moment, and then indicated that he was Katagaria in the next breath although I’m pretty he is Arcadian.

Another problem for me was that the ending seemed a bit rushed. You had this big buildup from the last book and seeing Illarion’s history through his eyes and then his happy ending came too fast. I mean, yeah he gets his HEA, but damn can we have a bit more drama. It just happened way too fast for me, which is why for the first time in my life I have to give a four-star to a Kenyon book.

…..

If the world ends at midnight tonight, we all know why.

Leave a Reply

