Apprentice in Death by J.D. Robb

The shots came quickly, silently, and with deadly accuracy. Within seconds, three people were dead at Central Park’s ice skating rink. The victims: a talented young skater, a doctor, and a teacher. As random as random can be.

Eve Dallas has seen a lot of killers during her time with the NYPSD, but never one like this. After reviewing security videos, it becomes clear that the victims were killed by a sniper firing a tactical laser rifle, who could have been miles away when the trigger was pulled. And though the locations where the shooter could have set up seem endless, the list of people with that particular skill set is finite: police, military, professional killer.

Eve’s husband, Roarke, has unlimited resources—and genius—at his disposal. And when his computer program leads Eve to the location of the sniper, she learns a shocking fact: There were two—one older, one younger. Someone is being trained by an expert in the science of killing, and they have an agenda. Central Park was just a warm-up. And as another sniper attack shakes the city to its core, Eve realizes that though we’re all shaped by the people around us, there are those who are just born evil…

Rating: ⋆ ⋆ ⋆ ⋆ 

J.D. Robb, or Nora Roberts as she’s better known, is another author that rarely fails me. I will admit that some of her trilogies may not always spark a perfect five star out of me, but I know regardless that I will always be well-entertained and that in one place happily ever really does exist. However, when she writes under her pseudonym of J.D. Robb, I always give wind up giving her 5-stars; I can’t say why one style always gets a perfect score over the other.

After all, in her “In Death” series, there is always a happy ever after of sorts. Not so much happy for the dead characters, but more so for the justice that they received. I love Eve and Roarke because despite their pasts, they haven’t become like the monsters they came from (well in Roarke’s case he only came from one monster). Roarke’s origins might have been shady, but his core is good just as Eve’s is. They compliment and heal one another and I love seeing how each story builds upon that love.I also love seeing the development of characters and how our secondary characters will grow and become more prominent characters. And who doesn’t just love it when a bad guy gets his (or hers) just end. We sadly don’t always get that with our justice system (and I’m not just referring to my own country because I read the news and other countries have their own stories of screwed up endings when it comes to justice).

I kinda felt like that Ms. Robb was making a point in her story with her villains and those who died. Particularly with all that is going on here in the US and the issue with law enforcement and certain groups. I’m not going to comment much upon that. This is a book review after all, although I may make a more personal reflective post upon it. But, back to my point, I think Ms. Robb wanted to reach out to her reader base that crosses all the stupid things that the human race uses to divide itself. She wanted to point out that there is good and bad in all of us and that sometimes some people in some groups are really bad or even evil, but you do not blame the group. Once you read the story, I think you’ll understand what I mean.

And now I bid thee adieu dear reader until I decide to review my next book or if you just follow me in general for whatever I post, until the next post. ^_~

Leave a Reply

