RoomHate by Penelope Ward

Sharing a summer house with a hot-as-hell roommate should be a dream come true, right?

Not when it’s Justin…the only person I’d ever loved…who now hates me.

When my grandmother died and left me half of the house on Aquidneck Island, there was a catch: the other half would go to the boy she helped raise.

The same boy who turned into the teenager whose heart I broke years ago.

The same teenager who’s now a man with a hard body and a hardass personality to match.

I hadn’t seen him in years, and now we’re living together because neither one of us is willing to give up the house.

The worst part? He didn’t come alone.

I’d soon realize there’s a thin line between love and hate. I could see through that smug smile. Beneath it all…the boy is still there. So is our connection.

The problem is…now that I can’t have Justin, I’ve never wanted him more.

Rating: ⋆ ⋆ ⋆ ⋆ 

Ironically, this book came across my path because one of the patrons at the library I work at requested it. The irony comes from the fact that this was an older patron, as in, grandma old (and in reality actually). Logically I know, an older woman can enjoy naughty books and I will certainly be one of them in another 30 or 40 years, but that part of me that’s still a kid winces a bit at the thought of a grandma figure reading a book like this.

In any case, I found that I really enjoyed this book. GoodReads and library cataloging systems have it categorized as a new adult book and I can see why in the way the plot flows and writing style, which reminds me of the styles of my favorite YA books. However, strong language (aka cursing and strong sex talk) paired with sexual tension and then hot sex scenes obviously makes this a book I wouldn’t want my teenager daughter, if I had one, read. Although to be honest, while I would probably be the pissed off mama in that scenario, I really couldn’t blame my child for wanting to read a good book; and let’s face it, I would have totally snuck and read this book when I was a teenager.

That being said, I devoured this book in less then 4 hours because said book and I were in a committed relationship from page one. I fell in love with our hero Justin, as much as our leading lady Amelia did and was rooting for them to get together since the two of them were in the same room in the book. This book had me all over the place emotionally: laughing and gleeful to heartbroken and crying with Amelia and of course since it is a sexy book, hot and bothered as well. So this book gets a 5-star rating out of me. Now excuse me while I find what other books this author has written and consider how much damage it will do to my monthly budget to add this book to my Nook collection.

P.S. Actually this book is good enough that I would totally have a physical and e-book version, however seeing as it is one of those very sexy naughty type books, I try not be a little discreet and have them on my Nook. I’m not ashamed of what I read, but I prefer to shock people for other reasons other then what books I read.

 

 

2 thoughts on “RoomHate by Penelope Ward

  1. I discovered in that in my library system which most of the state is part of, there was only one more book by Penelope Ward, one she co-wrote with Vi Keeland. Since I enjoyed RoomHate so much, I responded by promptly signing into my Barnes & Noble account and buying all of Ward’s books to add to my Nook. ^_^

    Like

Leave a Reply

