Cocky Bastard by Penelope Ward & Vi Keeland

He was someone who belonged in my wildest fantasies instead of a rest stop in the middle of Nebraska.

A sexy, cocky, Australian named Chance was the last person I expected to run into on my cross-country drive.

When my car broke down, we made a deal. Next thing I knew, we were traveling together, spending sexually-tense nights in hotels and taking unplanned detours.

My ordinary road trip turned into the adventure of a lifetime. It was all fun and games until things got intense.

I wanted him, but Chance wouldn’t make a move. I thought he wanted me too, but something was holding him back.

I wasn’t supposed to fall for the cocky bastard, especially when I knew we’d be going our separate ways.

All good things must come to an end, right?

Except our ending was one I didn’t see coming.

Rating: ⋆ ⋆ ⋆ ⋆ 

Did I mention how I love books connect even if it’s something small as a character featuring as a secondary character or even smaller role in one book before they get to be the main character in their own? Well if I haven’t then….

So in this case, our hero in Cocky Bastard is the guy walking a goat that Graham meets in Stuck-Up Suit when he goes after Soraya and gets that pep talk about going after the one you love. I literally squealed within the first few pages when Chance’s Aussie accent was brought up since it was detail I remembered about his cameo in the other book. I mean what women doesn’t love an accent and let’s face it the small little tidbut about his relationship with Aubrey in Stuck-Up Suit was rather intriguing.

Like the previous book, this book alternates between viewpoints, however it differentiates itself by not switching back forth chapter to chapter (which the the other book did for the most part although there was a few chapters straight from one character’s point of view.) Instead the first half of the book when Aubrey and Chance meet are from Aubrey’s point of view of falling in love and getting the mixed signals from Chance. The second half of the book is Chance’s point of view of why he gave off mixed signals and why things ended between the two characters the way they did and made him look a total dick.

I’m not going to give away the story by explaining Chance, let’s just say he had a reason and in the well-meaning way people in love do, he made a decision to protect Aubrey when he probably could have handled things better by being honest and letting her make a choice on her own because she’s an intelligent and compassionate woman.It’s really hard to stay mad at the Aussie since his heart was in the right place, but his actions led to drama since has to win Aubrey’s trust back and there’s another man in the picture who is a dick (and you’ll laugh when you read the book and get how much a reference that was) so you really don’t feel bad when Aubrey picks Chance.

Anyways, I’ll probably taking a break from these books as much as I love them since I own them and I have a large pile of my books that I borrowed from work that I need to read.

Leave a Reply

