Crimson Death by Laurell K. Hamilton

In her twenty-fifth adventure, vampire hunter and necromancer Anita Blake learns that evil is in the eye of the beholder…

Anita has never seen Damian, her vampire servant, in such a state. The rising sun doesn’t usher in the peaceful death that he desperately needs. Instead, he’s being bombarded with violent nightmares and blood sweats.

And now, with Damian at his most vulnerable, Anita needs him the most. The vampire who created him, who subjected him to centuries of torture, might be losing control, allowing rogue vampires to run wild and break one of their kind’s few strict taboos.

Some say love is a great motivator, but hatred gets the job done, too. And when Anita joins forces with her friend Edward to stop the carnage, Damian will be at their side, even if it means traveling back to the land where all his nightmares spring from…a place that couldn’t be less welcoming to a vampire, an assassin, and a necromancer.

Ireland.

Rating: ⋆ ⋆ ⋆ ⋆ 

Goddess and Consort, I can’t believe we’re on book #25 of the Anita Blake series. Now I know there has been a lot of negative comments on the series in recent books after Anita became a succubus of sorts and all the power up-grades she’s had over over time. I admit it I could do with a little more sex, however sex, love and anger are the coins of her “bloodline” with Jean-Claude and Laurell K. Hamilton has toned things down a bit in the last few books. As for powering up and complaining about Mary Sue-age, if you look at a lot of books of this sort this kind of thing happens. Maybe the author is projecting what they want to be, I don’t know it happens (I write so I know), however if people truly didn’t like this they wouldn’t read it so the reader wants it to which is why reading it appeals to them on some level.

I know there has also been complaints of long scenes of conversations and inner monologue by Anita or repetitive description of characters features. Being one of those inner thinking people, I don’t mind the long conversations or inner monologues; quite frankly I do that a lot in my writing and if life had paranormal races, it would have too. Seriously people, vampires and shifters are people too and they get into the same emotional traps and problems that we one-formed mortals do. And I’ve seen many long-series go back and repeat character descriptions. It’s for the newbies who stumble in on the newest book and don’t have the sense to go back to book #1 and start the series properly. Authors have to catch those folks up; don’t like it, skim past it.

That being said, there was lots of dialoguy scenes going on. It took half the book to get to Ireland and then it seemed like there was a good chunk of back and forth with the Irish government. I don’t know Ireland well enough to say if this paranormal world version of it was realistic, but I’d have to agree with Anita and Edward’s gun-happy method about dealing with newbie vamps being controlled by the Evil Bitch of the West aka Damien’s creator. That might be an American thing in me, or it just may be the fact that Anita and Edward are responsible gun users and so I don’t have a problem with them using force to deal with non-humans who are attacking humans. Like I feel bad for the newbie vampires because it’s not their fault really, but in this case there is no realistic way to save the humans with the paranormal strength and fang thing going on.

Anyways so we learn a few things about Damien’s maker and all. We have a death of secondary character and I really didn’t care for that, although I won’t spoil and tell you who and why it happened. I will say that while I did enjoy this book (it had less sex scenes), I also felt like the ending was rushed and Anita annoyed me. She no longer gets in her way and admits to her own sexual desires and preferences (making her a big ally for LBGTQ community as well as the BDSM community), well not as much, however she drives me crazy with her not making as much use of her paranormal abilities as her physical skills. Like some of the stuff that happened maybe could have been avoided if she had been open to using her magic like she does her guns.

In any case, I gave this a four star because the ending was rushed. I felt like it could have more built-up or just something extra. Now excuse me while I eyeball my mountain of books for the next one to read.

Leave a Reply

