Joe Ledger series (Books #1-8) by Jonathan Maberry

Joe Ledger is a Baltimore detective secretly recruited by the government to lead a new taskforce called the Department of Military Sciences or the DMS for short. The DMS deals with the problems that Homeland Security can’t handle—and these are big problems: terrorist zombies, weaponized plagues, transgenic monsters, ancient cult of vampires, alien conspiracy … Joe Ledger and his team will take on these threats and more in this series of thrillers from Jonathan Maberry.

Rating: ⋆ ⋆ ⋆ ⋆ – 4.5 (Since I can’t find a half star to use ^_^)

Hello, dear followers, I have returned. As you can notice by my GoodReads widget, I have been reading, however, I just didn’t feel like I wanted to review all the books I read; mostly because most of them was a marathon read of the Morganville series which I only read halfway through the first time I read it. I’ll leave my thoughts on that as a good teen series, but a lot of rage reading in the later books. And now to shift our attention to the Joe Ledger series which I do feel the need to review and tell you of its awesomeness.

While I admit that tackling a Joe Ledger book can take you a few days, particularly for those who go to work or school full-time, because of the fact that while Maberry does tell an entertaining story, there is a level of weightiness to the tales themselves that requires a reader to take their time to let everything sink in. Another reason why it takes time and is actually one the reasons why I love this series is the amount of detail that the author goes to explain the science of what is happening in each book. Now I admit science was never my thing, but still, the way Maberry writes makes the science easy to understand or at least make sense. Of course, this may be more for Joe’s benefit because Joe’s just like most of non-scientists/doctor types so he needs the explanation to understand why the shit has hit the fan.

I can say I’m eagerly awaiting the new book “Dogs of War” even though I may not be thrilled as with what Joe’s fighting in the book and that has always been the case with the other books. Quite honestly I think I loved the books that have the zombies in them (yes zombies, and realistically done) because that’s what drew me to the author’s books in the first place. But anyways, if you enjoy a good science-filled, bio-terrorism, action book then Mabery certainly delivers. Just be prepared to invest 3-4 days of your life as these books usually average 450-500 pages.

Leave a Reply

